Zone 11 Bowling Association Inc.

On Saturday at Forster Bowling Club the first championship of the year was decided with the Zone Triples semi-finals played in the morning and the final in the afternoon.

The first semi-final was between the team of Peter Woolley, Jim Cherrett and Bill Brett (TL) against Les Willmot, John O’Keefe and Harry Williams (F).  Harry’s team scored a 2 on the first end, but from then on Bill’s team took control winning the next 7 ends and scoring 17 shots to take a commanding lead, which they never relinquished. The other semi-final was between Dave Richardson, Steve Harris and Matt Sargeant (TB) up against Barry Sky, Steve Hinton and George McCartney (S). This was a much closer game, with not much between the teams for the entire game. Scores were locked at 10 all, 11 all and finally 17 apiece, before Matt’s team won the final 3 ends to run out winners and advance to the final.

The final, played on Saturday afternoon, began with much promise of a close tussle after Bill recorded an easy win in his semi, and Matt’s team, being the punters favourite for the event, had quite a struggle in their semi win. Bill started with a single on the first end before dropping 3 ends in a row to trail 8-1. Bill then won the next 4 ends to get back in contention and only trail by the single shot 8-7 .  Unfortunately that was as close as they could get, only scoring 1 more shot in the game.  Matt’s team won 13 of the last 14 ends and the last 11 in a row to run out resounding and deserved winners.

Congratulations Dave Richardson, Steve Harris and Matt Sargeant, 2017 Zone 11 Triples Champions. Good luck in the State Finals in October.


Leave a Reply